SUMMER 2017

June 2017
Skype Interview -- Crime Fiction Fix
I'm interviewed by Sarah Williams, Publisher of Crime Fiction Fix, an online U.K. writing magazine
http://bit.ly/2ssg81h

June 2017
The Back Story - Crime Fiction Fix
A piece I wrote showing how the writing of a key scene evolved.
http://bit.ly/2sORomx

SPRING 2017

Monday, May 22, 2017
Television Interview
"Live at Four" 4 p.m. Central Time
WISC-TV3
Madison, Wisconsin
http://bit.ly/2rNf8Dj

Saturday, May 20, 2017
Television News Story
WXOW - Mackenzie Amundsen
La Crosse, Wisconsin
http://bit.ly/2shiYI2

WINTER 2016-17

Newspaper Feature - Loudoun Now - March 2017 - by Jan Mercker
"Novelist John DeDakis Headlines Leesburg's Writers Project Runway
http://bit.ly/2ncdgTt

Book Review - Bullet in the Chamber - Reader Views - Carol Hoyer
"DeDakis provides a gripping, realistic, and can’t-put-down read. I highly recommend this book."
http://bit.ly/2kWSXv1

Radio Interview - John Raab - Suspense Radio Inside Edition - January 28, 2017
http://bit.ly/2kjUoT7
We cover a lot of ground in this 30-minute interview:
2:45-5:45 -- A discussion of Bullet in the Chamber
6:00-10:00 -- The difficulty of writing about the death of my youngest son Stephen
11:00-13:00 -- The challenge of writing a series in which each book stands alone
14:00-18:00 -- The power of the subconscious when it comes to writing my protagonist Lark Chadwick
19:00-22:00 -- The writing process: planning vs. seat-of-the-pantsing
22:00-29:00 -- The changing face of journalism following the election of Donald Trump as president

Book Talk - Hellenic Writers' Group of Washington, D.C. - Dec. 18, 2016
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TEeAPvxVHWo

Book Review - "Bullet in the Chamber" - Readers' Favorite - Lucinda E. Clarke
"Bullet in the Chamber by John DeDakis screams authenticity."
http://bit.ly/2gB8kCG

Book Review - "Bullet in the Chamber"
"With "Bullet in the Chamber," author John DeDakis proves to be a gifted and original novelist who is a master of the political thriller. A consistently compelling read from beginning to end, "Bullet in the Chamber" is very highly recommended, especially for community library collections."
~Midwest Book Review
http://bit.ly/2gCUoZy

"Bullet in the Chamber" is featured in the Winter issue of Big Blend Magazine.
https://issuu.com/bigblendmagazines/docs/bbmagwinterdec-2016/35
Also...... click here for the interview with me that goes with it. It's long, so take it with you on your run or walk:
http://spiritofamericamagazine.com/JohnDeDakisBulletInChamber.mp3

FALL 2016

Radio Interview: Tony Kay - Artist First Radio Network
http://www.artistfirst2.com/Authors-First_2016-10-11_John_DeDakis.mp3

Feature in the Sept/Oct issue of THE BOOK BREEZE…
https://issuu.com/thebookbreeze/docs/tbb_print_sept-oct_2016

Interview -- Book Cover Junkie
http://bookcoverjunkie.blogspot.be/2016/10/book-cover-junkie-with-suspense-author.html

Interview -- Blogcritics
http://blogcritics.org/interview-with-john-dedakis-author-of-bullet-in-the-chamber/

Interview on the writing life -- Mom Bloggers Club
http://www.mombloggersclub.com/profiles/blogs/author-interview-the-writing-life-with-john-dedakis-1

Interview - The Story Behind Bullet in the Chamber - The Review From Here
http://thereviewfromhere.com/2016/10/13/the-story-behind-bullet-in-the-chamber-by-john-dedakis/

Interview with my protagonist, Lark Chadwick -- Beyond the Books
https://beyondthebooks.wordpress.com/2016/10/21/character-interview-lark-chadwick-from-bullet-in-the-chamber-a-thriller-by-john-dedakis/

Interview - Blogger News
http://www.bloggernews.net/138787

Bullet in the Chamber - Chapter One excerpt -- Book Marketing Network
http://thebookmarketingnetwork.com/profiles/blogs/chapter-reveal-bullet-in-the-chamber-by-john-dedakis

Interview -- As the Page Turns
http://asthepageturns.blogspot.be/2016/10/the-writing-life-with-john-dedakis.html

Interview -- Straight from the Author's Mouth
http://straightfromtheauthorsmouth.blogspot.com/2016/10/straight-from-mouth-of-john-dedakis.html

Excerpt - Bullet in the Chamber - My Bookish Pleasures
http://mybookishpleasures.blogspot.be/2016/10/chapter-reveal-bullet-in-chamber-by.html

5-star Book Review - Bullet in the Chamber - Futures (Mostly) Mystery Magazine - Cynthia Lea Clark
http://fmam.biz/reviews/reviews_oct16.html#bulletinthechamber
"...a high caliber romp....An excellent political thriller. Highly enjoyable!"

Blog Post - "I'm Afraid to Write!" - The Writer's Life
http://thewriterslife.blogspot.com/2016/10/guest-post-im-afraid-to-write-by-john.html?spref=tw

Radio Interviews with Burl Barer - Outlaw Radio
Sept. 11, 2016: https://m.mixcloud.com/burlbarer/john-dedakis-from-cbn-to-cnn-to-thriller-fiction/
We discuss my time as a White House correspondent and early career in journalism

Oct. 1, 2016: https://m.mixcloud.com/burlbarer/john-dedakis-returns-a-fascinating-hour-really-well-more-like-48-minutes/
We discuss the release of Bullet in the Chamber and how I'm able to write as a 20-something young woman.

Book Excerpt - Bullet in the Chamber - Omnimystery News
http://www.omnimysterynews.com/2016/10/an-excerpt-from-bullet-in-the-chamber-by-john-dedakis-5ff6d240.html

Vicki Liston reviews Bullet in the Chamber on multiple platforms.
"A kinetic, Russian roulette of a read!"
Amazon - https://www.amazon.com/review/R3W1PMS4NRM1KB/ref=cm_cr_rdp_perm

Barnes and Noble - http://www.barnesandnoble.com/reviews/bullet-in-the-chamber-john-dedakis/1123625680?ean=9781939521637#reviews-header

Alibris - https://www.alibris.com/Bullet-in-the-Chamber-John-Dedakis/book/34513746#reviews

GoodReads - https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1772974096

LibraryThing - http://www.librarything.com/work/18452833/reviews/134802854

Books a Million - http://www.booksamillion.com/p/Bullet-Chamber/John-Dedakis/9781939521637?id=4923599840059

Powells Books - http://www.powells.com/book/bullet-in-the-chamber-9781939521637/61-0#product_details

FetchBook - http://www.fetchbook.info/reviews.do?search=9781939521637#customer_reviews

Google Books - https://books.google.com/books?id=n5vJjwEACAAJ&sitesec=reviews

Monday, September 26, 2016
1:00 p.m. Eastern
Radio Interview with Cyrus Webb
Program will be live-streamed and archived at www.blogtalkradio.com/middayconversations

Monday, September 26, 2016
1:00 p.m. Eastern
Radio Interview with Cyrus Webb
Program will be live-streamed and archived at www.blogtalkradio.com/middayconversations

September 2016
Book Review - Bullet in the Chamber - Mary Ann Smyth - Bookloons.com
http://www.bookloons.com/cgi-bin/Review.asp?bookid=19119
"...exciting and full of suspense."

Saturday, October 1, 2016
5:00 p.m. Eastern
Radio Interview with Burl Barer on Outlaw Radio
http://www.outlawcrime.com/

Wednesday, October 5, 2016
8:30 p.m. Eastern
Radio Interview with Nancy J. Reid and Lisa D. Smith on Big Blend Radio
http://tobtr.com/9441821

July 2016:
Book review of Troubled Water -- Cynthia Lea Clark, "Futures (mostly) Mystery Magazine"
http://fmam.biz/reviews/reviews_jul16.html#troubledwater
"Fun, exhilarating read. Enjoyable and well written. Great way to pass the time with a good book. Exciting. On a scale of 1 to 5, I give it a 4.9."
~Dr. Cynthia Lea Clark, Psy.D., Ph.D., MHt., Diplomate Homeland Security


April 13, 2016:
Here’s a link to a short interview I did on WCAX, the CBS television affiliate in Burlington, Vermont about surviving the death of my son Stephen:
http://bit.ly/1qKeHsL

May 5, 2016:
Michael Hall, the Chief of Police in Manchester, Vermont, saw the WCAX interview (above) and invited me to come to his community to address the problem of heroin addiction. That led to this interview:
https://youtu.be/gjoCBqWUpPM

Friday, November 15, 2015
Radio Interview - Svetlana Kim - "To The Stars Through Adversity"
http://www.blogtalkradio.com/svetlanakim/2015/11/13/john-dedakis-to-find-purpose-for-the-future
Topics covered: At 3:00 - Finding purpose; at 6:25 - Covering the White House; at 8:25 - Being afraid to write; at 11:41 - Discipline, inspiration, and persistence; at 14:30 - writing a memoir; at 17:13 - Writing as a woman (emotions); at 21:00 - The DeDakis name; at 23:00 My next novel, "Bullet in the Chamber."; at 25:00 - Grief and emotions.

Sunday, May 24, 2015
5 p.m. Eastern Time

Live Radio Interview with Sophia DiGonis (The Gypsy Poet)
http://www.blogtalkradio.com/gypsypoet/2015/05/24/author-and-former-cnn-copy-editor-john-dedakis

Wednesday, September 24, 2014 4:30 p.m. 
Radio Interview - WLVS-FM, Washington, DC ("Radio You Can Watch") - The We B. Swangin Show 
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FKbkYt1rAoU&feature=youtu.be
*The interview Begins at 13:30

August 20, 2014
Review of Troubled Water -- Vicki Liston -- Amazon
http://www.amazon.com/review/RXCYDBT25R2F0/ref=cm_cr_pr_perm?ie=UTF8&ASIN=1939521076
"DeDakis is not only able to write convincingly as a woman, but he writes in such a way that makes the reader completely forget he’s a man."

July 25, 2014
Radio Interview -- Host: Drew Schlosberg of the Union-Tribune in San Diego. The 30-minute interview is in two parts below the paragraph about me. Here's the link:
http://wsradio.com/072514-ready-carlsbad-business-alliance-john-dedakis-novelist-former-cnn-editor/

April 23, 2014
News Item - Class Notes - University of Wisconsin School of Journalism
http://journalism.wisc.edu/newsletter/class-notes/

April 16, 2014
Video of my appearance before the Annapolis, Maryland Writers' Group:
http://annapolismwa.wordpress.com/2014/04/18/videos-for-april-2014-talk-by-john-dedakis/
" From Journalist to Novelist (Or How I learned to Start Making it Up)"
Also includes Q&A and the writing workshop "Getting an Agent & Getting Noticed."
Includes a link to the PDF handout I used

April 14, 2014
Review of Troubled Water – Harriet Klausner -- Midwest Book
http://www.midwestbookreview.com/mbw/apr_14.htm#klausner
" Fabulous . . . a terrific mystery."

April 2, 2014
Review of Troubled Water - I Love a Mystery Newsletter - John Broussard
http://iloveamysterynewsletter.com/JOHN%20BROUSSARD.html#TROUBLED
" . . . well-written, nicely-plotted . . ."

March 16, 2014
Troubled Water is the Book of the Week on Angie’s Diary:
http://angiesdiary.com/bookoftheweek-web/067-botwmar162014.html

March 13, 2014
Radio Interview with Cyrus Webb - Blog Talk Radio
http://www.blogtalkradio.com/middayconversations/2014/03/13/author-john-dedakis-discusses-troubled-water-on-conversations-live

March 9, 2014
Review of Troubled Water on the Mystery Maven Blog by Liz Nichols:
http://www.mysterymavenblog.com/american-mysteries/troubled-water-by-john-dedakis
“ . . . an action-packed thriller with very human characters . . . ”

March 8, 2014
Troubled Water Book Launch - The Writer's Bloc by Anastasia Champ
http://umdwritersbloc.wordpress.com/2014/03/08/umd-adjunct-professor-discusses-his-mystery-series-at-bookstore/

March 6, 2014
Review of Troubled Water – Julia Hopkinson – Readers’ Favorite
http://readersfavorite.com/book-review/26758
“ . . . excellent story . . . ”

March 5, 2014
Review of Troubled Water – Jack Goodstein – BlogCritics.org SeattlePI.com
http://www.seattlepi.com/lifestyle/blogcritics/article/Book-Review-Troubled-Water-by-John-DeDakis-5292521.php
“ . . . a riveting . . . tightly wrought thriller . . . . ”

March 5, 2014
Radio Interview with Lisa Smith – Big Blend Radio
http://www.blogtalkradio.com/big-blend-radio/2014/03/06/books-recipes-music-more
The 30-minute interview starts at 6:00.
Here are the times and the topics:
7:00 – My retirement from CNN
8:51 – A discussion on the state of journalism today
11:30 – My three books
15:40 – Lark’s love interest in Troubled Water and how journalism is depicted
18:00 – Why I write as a woman
19:36 – A discussion about grief following the death of my son Stephen
25:32 – Lark’s mentor and friend Lionel Stone
27:00 – A discussion about eBooks and self-publishing
30:00 – Other projects I’m working on
31:30 – Drinking with Jesus

March 3, 2014
Review of Troubled Water - Valerie Porter - Bookpleasures.com
http://www.bookpleasures.com/websitepublisher/articles/6759/1/Troubled-Water-Reviewed-By-Valeries-Porter-of-Bookpleasurescom/Page1.html

February 26, 2014
Radio Interview with Dr. Alvin Jones
http://www.dralvinjones.com/content/01%20John%20DeDakis.mp3
This fast-paced 12-minute conversation covers a lot of ground. We talk about "Fast Track,"  "Bluff," and "Troubled Water."  We also talk about why I write as a woman and about the quirks  in some of the characters I've created. 

February 18, 2014:
Interview – Omnimystery News
http://www.omnimysterynews.com/2014/02/a-conversation-with-mystery-author-john-dedakis-1402180800.html#.UwT3cnkwh3k

February 17, 2014
Review of Troubled Water – Mary Ann Smyth – Bookloons.com
http://www.bookloons.com/cgi-bin/Review.asp?bookid=16933
“Wow! Good book.”

February 14, 2014
Review of Troubled Water – Kathleen Hennrikus – New York Journal of Books
http://www.nyjournalofbooks.com/book-review/troubled-water
“One of the joys of having a journalist write a book is that they really do know how to write.”

February 12, 2014:
The La Crosse Tribune – La Crosse, Wisconsin
http://lacrossetribune.com/blogs/annejungen/la-crosse-native-s-new-mystery-in-stores-saturday/article_d2c49da0-b77c-524c-8217-33dd7bc02223.html

February 7, 2014
Blog Interview – Marshal Zeringue – Campaign for the American Reader
http://writerinterviews.blogspot.com/2014/02/john-dedakis.html 

February 4, 2014:
Here's a fun interview I did with Tony Kay on his Authors-First radio show to promote my new novel Troubled Water. We cover some interesting ground including some of the wonderful women in my life. Click here then scroll to the Ds to find my name:
http://www.artistfirst.com/bookshows.htm
The conversation is a fast-paced 50 minutes, so consider downloading it and listening in your car, or when you're on the treadmill, out for a run (or walk), or doing stuff around the house. Thanks. I hope you enjoy it. ~JD

July 25, 2013
Journalists and InterVarsity Christian Fellowship by Gordon Govier
http://www.intervarsity.org/news/journalists-and-intervarsity

July 2, 2013
Blog Post – Tammy Kaehler – Poisoned Pen Press
http://www.poisonedpenpress.com/editing-and-querying-advice-from-the-experts/
Editing and querying advice, based on a panel discussion I was on at the California Crime Writers’ Conference 

April 13, 2012
Blog Interview – Daisy Hickman – Sunny Room Studio
http://sunnyroomstudio.com/2012/04/13/interview-with-john-dedakis/
We discuss grief following the death of my youngest son Stephen

Review/Interview - SuspenseMagazine.com
http://www.suspensemagazine.com/johndedakis.html
“Fast Track is just that: the ultimate ride in Suspense!”

Here’s a link to all the interviews I’ve done (as of Feb. 19, 2014) for various programs on BlogTalk Radio:
http://www.blogtalkradio.com/search?q=dedakis

March 5, 2012
Blog Interview – Amanda Brice – Ruby Slippered Sisterhood
http://www.rubyslipperedsisterhood.com/guest-author-john-dedakis-a-man-writing-as-a-woman/
We discuss how a man can write as a woman.

2011
Radio Interview – Earth Angels Radio - BlogTalkRadio.com
http://www.blogtalkradio.com/earthangelsradio/2010/10/20/meaningful-relationships-with-women-with-author-an
A fun discussion about how men can have meaningful relationships with women. 

March 22, 2011
Blog Interview – Norm Goldman – Bookpleasures.com
http://www.bookpleasures.com/websitepublisher/articles/3338/1/Meet-John-DeDakis-Author-of-Fast-Track-and-Bluff/Page1.html

March 21, 2011
Review of Bluff – Norm Goldman – Bookpleasures.com
http://www.bookpleasures.com/websitepublisher/articles/3336/1/John-DeDakiss-Bluff-Reviewed-By-Norm-Goldman-of-Bookpleasurescom/Page1.html
“I wasn’t disappointed . . . . His scenes are delicately rendered and crystal clear, permitting the reader to easily visualize the details. Moreover, his ability to cleverly and smoothly interweave two plots without losing focus is awesome!” 

July 25, 2010
Guest Blogger – Angie’s Diary
“Confessions of a Cross-gender Writer:
http://angiesdiary.com/articles/confessions-of-a-cross-gender-writer/ 

 

February 25, 2008
Blog Interview – Marta Stephens – Murder by 4
http://murderby4.blogspot.com/2008/02/interview-with-author-john-dedakis-by.html

November 2007
Review of Fast Track – WomensSelfEsteem.com
http://www.womensselfesteem.com/fasttrackbookreview.html
“ . . . riveting . . . with a superbly-rounded plot . . . . A definite, hard-to-put-down read!”

June 2007
Review of Fast Track - Midwest Book Review
http://www.midwestbookreview.com/mbw/jun_07.htm
"Superbly written and entertaining from beginning to end . . . highly recommended."

Monday, March 14, 2011
YouTube Interview
The District Dish with Kate Michael, Ebong Eka, and Sonya Gavankar
Click here to watch:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1XlFZKHECL8

Friday, March 18, 2011
Blog Talk Radio Interview – Red River Radio
Page Turners with Meg Collins, Nancy Duci Denofio, and Antoinette Dickson
Click here to listen:  http://bit.ly/jmBv8g

NOTE: It’s a lengthy interview, so here’s a handy guide:
It begins one hour in at 60:54
At 62:49 we talk about BLUFF
At 70:50 we discuss being a man writing as a woman
At 78:08 we discuss how men can forge meaningful relationships with women
At 90:40 we discuss writing vs. editing
At 105:48 we discuss how listening to women has affected my writing
At 109:12 we discuss writing sequels
At 114:06 we discuss planning and the craft of writing
At 134:33 we discuss journaling and staying organized
At 141:30 we discuss the rewriting process
At 148:13 we discuss the publishing business

Wednesday, March 23, 2011
Blog Talk Radio Interview
Gelatis Scoop with Giovanni Gelati
Click here to listen: http://bit.ly/gsUGHo

The interview runs about an hour (excellent to download as a podcast while you exercise)  Here are the highlights:
The interview starts at 4:12
At 11:44 we discuss writing romance scenes
At 19:40 we discuss getting story ideas
At 23:18 we discuss the discipline of writing
At 26:00 we discuss editing CNN’s “The Situation Room with Wolf Blitzer”
At 31:58 we discuss Social Media
At 39:34 we discuss hiking the Inca Trail as research for BLUFF
At 44:12 we discuss writing as a way to connect with others
At 49:00 we discuss my writing workshops

 

Monday, March 28, 2011
Radio Interview – Amanda Mangan
Magic 100.5 – Cumberland, Maryland
http://bit.ly/15SERa
The interview is in two parts. Scroll to the March 28 program.

Here’s a link to my publisher’s website:
http://archebooks.com/BookIDX/Indexes/MystSus/FT/FTRvws.htm
Here you’ll find several early newspaper reviews of FAST TRACK
I especially call your attention to a 2006 radio interview on Wisconsin Public Radio conducted by Jim Packard

 

 

Join SHOWTIME Free Trial

Try Audible and Get Two Free Audiobooks

< script language="javascript" src="https://stattrak.submitnet.net/stattrak.js">